Aliso Viejo permitted 5 ADUs from 2013 to 2025 — among the most active markets in California. Here's what it costs, what's allowed, and who builds them.
All-in design-build estimates (architecture + permits + construction + soft costs). Real quotes vary by lot conditions, finishes and contractor — get at least three before signing.
Per-square-foot ranges reflect 2026 pricing in the default market. Permit fees ($5–25k), site work ($10–40k) and high-end finishes can push totals 20–40% higher. See cost methodology for the full regression model and the 8 California builder-pricing sources it's calibrated against.
California state law sets a floor that every city must meet. Aliso Viejo may allow more than the minimums shown — confirm with the Aliso Viejo planning department before finalising plans. See how we verify city-specific ordinance data.
| Rule | Standard |
|---|---|
| ADUs allowed on single-family lot | Yes — required by state law |
| Max units per lot | Single-family lot: 1 ADU converted from existing space, 1 JADU and 1 detached new ADU. From Jan 1, 2027 a second detached ADU, though a city need not then also approve a JADU. Lot with an existing multifamily building: up to 8 detached ADUs, not more than its existing units, plus conversions of non-livable space |
| Owner-occupancy required | Not allowed to require for ADUs (state preempts) |
| Side setback (detached) | 4 feet |
| Rear setback (detached) | 4 feet |
| Max height | 16 ft; 18 ft within one-half mile walking distance of a major transit stop or high-quality transit corridor |
| Off-street parking | None may be required within one-half mile walking distance of public transit, or in the other cases listed in Government Code section 66322; otherwise at most one space per ADU or per bedroom, whichever is less |
| Max ADU size | 850 sqft for studio/1BR; 1,000 sqft for 2+BR (city may allow more) |
| Min lot size | A city may not impose a minimum lot size requirement for ADUs |
| Permit timeline (ministerial) | 60 days from complete application (state law) |
State law, effective statewide. What the 2027 ADU laws change, and what they don't →
Annual ADU permits issued, 2013–2025. Sources: Big West Coast ADU Dataset for 2013–2017 and the California HCD Annual Progress Report (October 2026 release) for 2018–2025.
Aliso Viejo has not reported enough completed ADU projects to the state for us to publish a local build time. Across California, the median time from building permit to certificate of occupancy is 346 days (about 11.4 months), measured over 64,173 completed ADU projects. See measured build times for 166 California cities →
Active CA-licensed B-class general contractors with ADU-specialist branding, sourced from the CSLB Public Data Portal snapshot from April 28, 2026. Click any license number to verify current status at the CSLB Instant License Check — status can change at any time. See builder-directory methodology.
Talk to a builder
Run the lot checker for your address. You get the rules that apply to your lot, a cost range and the statewide build-time figures first, and at the end you can ask to be introduced by email to one builder or builder-matching service that serves your area. Builders may pay us a referral fee for an introduction; it never changes anything on this page, and no builder can pay to appear in our directory.
Most Aliso Viejo ADU projects fall in a $100,000–$400,000+ range, all-in (design + permits + construction). The big drivers are size, type (detached costs more than a garage conversion), and finish level. See the per-type cost table above for typical ranges in this market.
Yes — every ADU in California requires a building permit. Aliso Viejo processes ADU applications under the state's 60-day ministerial review rule (no public hearings, no discretionary review for code-compliant designs). Permit fees vary but typically run $5,000–$25,000 depending on size and impact fees.
It depends on the city. Under the general ADU ordinance rules, a city cannot set a maximum ADU size below 850 sqft, or 1,000 sqft for more than one bedroom, but the separate state-mandated detached ADU path may be limited to 800 sqft. Many California cities allow larger detached ADUs — check the Aliso Viejo planning department or the ordinance link in our rules table above for the local maximum.
No, not for an ADU. AB-976, in effect since January 1, 2024, made the state's ban on owner-occupancy requirements for ADUs permanent: California cities may not require an owner to live on the property as a condition of permitting an ADU. JADUs are different. A JADU that shares sanitation facilities with the existing structure requires the owner to live in either the house or the JADU; owner-occupancy is not required if the JADU has separate sanitation facilities, or if the owner is another governmental agency, land trust, or housing organization (Government Code section 66333).
A JADU (Junior ADU) is a unit ≤500 sqft created within an existing single-family home, sharing a wall with the main residence. JADUs are cheaper and faster to build. A JADU that shares sanitation facilities with the existing structure requires the owner to live in either the house or the JADU; owner-occupancy is not required if the JADU has separate sanitation facilities, or if the owner is another governmental agency, land trust, or housing organization. Most homeowners build a separate ADU for rental flexibility.
According to California HCD permit records, Aliso Viejo permitted 2 ADUs in 2025, its peak year on record (2013–2025). California-wide ADU permits have grown roughly 30× since 2016 — homeowner demand is outpacing every other housing-supply tool the state has tried.
Aliso Viejo has not reported enough completed ADU projects to the state for a reliable local figure. Across California, the median time from building permit to certificate of occupancy is 346 days (about 11.4 months), and 53% of completed ADU projects were finished within a year. Design and plan check happen before the permit is issued, so allow for those on top.