BackyardADU
Note: public ADU permit data for Fowler is limited. The cost ranges below are based on the regional regression model. For local zoning specifics, contact the Fowler planning department.

Building an ADU in Fowler: 2026 cost & rules guide

Fowler permitted 14 ADUs from 2016 to 2025 — among the most active markets in California. Here's what it costs, what's allowed, and who builds them.

Region: Default Permit data through 2025 Permit data updated October 2026
Lifetime permits 2016–2025
14
Permits in 2025
2
+1× since 2021
Peak year
2023
5 permits
Typical cost range
$34,000–$342,000

How much an ADU costs in Fowler

All-in design-build estimates (architecture + permits + construction + soft costs). Real quotes vary by lot conditions, finishes and contractor — get at least three before signing.

ADU cost by type in Fowler
ADU typeAll-in cost, low to high
Detached ADU~750 sqft typical$128,250–$342,000typical $213,750$171–$456 per sqft
Attached ADU~700 sqft typical$99,400–$252,700typical $159,600$142–$361 per sqft
Garage Conversion~400 sqft typical$34,000–$91,200typical $56,800$85–$228 per sqft
Junior ADU (JADU)~400 sqft typical$34,000–$91,200typical $56,800$85–$228 per sqft
Prefab ADU~600 sqft typical$76,800–$205,200typical $127,800$128–$342 per sqft
Basement Conversion~600 sqft typical$59,400–$159,600typical $99,600$99–$266 per sqft
Each bar runs from the low to the high estimate, on a scale that starts at $0. The dark mark is the typical cost.

Per-square-foot ranges reflect 2026 pricing in the default market. Permit fees ($5–25k), site work ($10–40k) and high-end finishes can push totals 20–40% higher. See cost methodology for the full regression model and the 8 California builder-pricing sources it's calibrated against.

Fowler ADU rules & zoning

California state law sets a floor that every city must meet. Fowler may allow more than the minimums shown — confirm with the Fowler planning department before finalising plans. See how we verify city-specific ordinance data.

RuleStandard
ADUs allowed on single-family lotYes — required by state law
Max units per lotSingle-family lot: 1 ADU converted from existing space, 1 JADU and 1 detached new ADU. From Jan 1, 2027 a second detached ADU, though a city need not then also approve a JADU. Lot with an existing multifamily building: up to 8 detached ADUs, not more than its existing units, plus conversions of non-livable space
Owner-occupancy requiredNot allowed to require for ADUs (state preempts)
Side setback (detached)4 feet
Rear setback (detached)4 feet
Max height16 ft; 18 ft within one-half mile walking distance of a major transit stop or high-quality transit corridor
Off-street parkingNone may be required within one-half mile walking distance of public transit, or in the other cases listed in Government Code section 66322; otherwise at most one space per ADU or per bedroom, whichever is less
Max ADU size850 sqft for studio/1BR; 1,000 sqft for 2+BR (city may allow more)
Min lot sizeA city may not impose a minimum lot size requirement for ADUs
Permit timeline (ministerial)60 days from complete application (state law)

Changing on January 1, 2027

  • Two detached ADUs: cities must approve two detached, new-construction ADUs on a lot with a single-family home, up from one (AB 956).
  • Impact fees: on an ADU larger than 750 sqft, only the area above 750 sqft is chargeable, for the first two ADUs on a lot (SB 1117).
  • Plan check: no more than two plan-check rounds on a building permit application (AB 1621).

State law, effective statewide. What the 2027 ADU laws change, and what they don't →

ADU permit history in Fowler

Annual ADU permits issued, 2016–2025. Sources: Big West Coast ADU Dataset for 2013–2017 and the California HCD Annual Progress Report (October 2026 release) for 2018–2025.

0
0
2
1
5
4
2
2016201720212022202320242025

How long ADUs take to build in Fowler

Fowler has not reported enough completed ADU projects to the state for us to publish a local build time. Across California, the median time from building permit to certificate of occupancy is 346 days (about 11.4 months), measured over 64,173 completed ADU projects. See measured build times for 166 California cities →

ADU specialist builders in Fowler

Active CA-licensed B-class general contractors with ADU-specialist branding, sourced from the CSLB Public Data Portal snapshot from April 28, 2026. Click any license number to verify current status at the CSLB Instant License Check — status can change at any time. See builder-directory methodology.

We don't yet list ADU specialists with offices in Fowler. Some builders from neighbouring cities may serve this area: you can ask for an introduction below, check our full builder directory, or contact your local planning department for referrals.

Talk to a builder

Want an introduction to a builder or matching service that serves Fowler?

Run the lot checker for your address. You get the rules that apply to your lot, a cost range and the statewide build-time figures first, and at the end you can ask to be introduced by email to one builder or builder-matching service that serves your area. Builders may pay us a referral fee for an introduction; it never changes anything on this page, and no builder can pay to appear in our directory.

Check my lot in Fowler

Frequently asked questions

How much does an ADU cost in Fowler?

Most Fowler ADU projects fall in a $100,000–$400,000+ range, all-in (design + permits + construction). The big drivers are size, type (detached costs more than a garage conversion), and finish level. See the per-type cost table above for typical ranges in this market.

Do I need a permit to build an ADU in Fowler?

Yes — every ADU in California requires a building permit. Fowler processes ADU applications under the state's 60-day ministerial review rule (no public hearings, no discretionary review for code-compliant designs). Permit fees vary but typically run $5,000–$25,000 depending on size and impact fees.

Can my ADU in Fowler be larger than 1,000 sqft?

It depends on the city. Under the general ADU ordinance rules, a city cannot set a maximum ADU size below 850 sqft, or 1,000 sqft for more than one bedroom, but the separate state-mandated detached ADU path may be limited to 800 sqft. Many California cities allow larger detached ADUs — check the Fowler planning department or the ordinance link in our rules table above for the local maximum.

Do I need to live on the property to build an ADU in Fowler?

No, not for an ADU. AB-976, in effect since January 1, 2024, made the state's ban on owner-occupancy requirements for ADUs permanent: California cities may not require an owner to live on the property as a condition of permitting an ADU. JADUs are different. A JADU that shares sanitation facilities with the existing structure requires the owner to live in either the house or the JADU; owner-occupancy is not required if the JADU has separate sanitation facilities, or if the owner is another governmental agency, land trust, or housing organization (Government Code section 66333).

What's the difference between an ADU and a JADU?

A JADU (Junior ADU) is a unit ≤500 sqft created within an existing single-family home, sharing a wall with the main residence. JADUs are cheaper and faster to build. A JADU that shares sanitation facilities with the existing structure requires the owner to live in either the house or the JADU; owner-occupancy is not required if the JADU has separate sanitation facilities, or if the owner is another governmental agency, land trust, or housing organization. Most homeowners build a separate ADU for rental flexibility.

How many ADUs are being built in Fowler?

According to California HCD permit records, Fowler permitted 5 ADUs in 2023, its peak year on record (2013–2025). California-wide ADU permits have grown roughly 30× since 2016 — homeowner demand is outpacing every other housing-supply tool the state has tried.

How long does it take to build an ADU in Fowler?

Fowler has not reported enough completed ADU projects to the state for a reliable local figure. Across California, the median time from building permit to certificate of occupancy is 346 days (about 11.4 months), and 53% of completed ADU projects were finished within a year. Design and plan check happen before the permit is issued, so allow for those on top.

Check my lot: rules, cost, build time