BackyardADU

Building an ADU in Irvine: 2026 cost & rules guide

Irvine permitted 15 ADUs from 2013 to 2025 — among the most active markets in California. Here's what it costs, what's allowed, and who builds them.

Ordinance grade: C+ Region: Los Angeles Permit data through 2025 Permit data updated October 2026
Lifetime permits 2013–2025
15
Permits in 2025
8
+8× since 2018
Peak year
2025
8 permits
Typical cost range
$36,000–$360,000

How much an ADU costs in Irvine

All-in design-build estimates (architecture + permits + construction + soft costs). Real quotes vary by lot conditions, finishes and contractor — get at least three before signing.

ADU cost by type in Irvine
ADU typeAll-in cost, low to high
Detached ADU~750 sqft typical$135,000–$360,000typical $225,000$180–$480 per sqft
Attached ADU~700 sqft typical$105,000–$266,000typical $168,000$150–$380 per sqft
Garage Conversion~400 sqft typical$36,000–$96,000typical $60,000$90–$240 per sqft
Junior ADU (JADU)~400 sqft typical$36,000–$96,000typical $60,000$90–$240 per sqft
Prefab ADU~600 sqft typical$81,000–$216,000typical $135,000$135–$360 per sqft
Basement Conversion~600 sqft typical$63,000–$168,000typical $105,000$105–$280 per sqft
Each bar runs from the low to the high estimate, on a scale that starts at $0. The dark mark is the typical cost.

Per-square-foot ranges reflect 2026 pricing in the los angeles market. Permit fees ($5–25k), site work ($10–40k) and high-end finishes can push totals 20–40% higher. See cost methodology for the full regression model and the 8 California builder-pricing sources it's calibrated against.

Irvine ADU rules & zoning

California state law sets a floor that every city must meet. Irvine may allow more than the minimums shown — confirm with the Irvine planning department before finalising plans. See how we verify city-specific ordinance data.

RuleStandard
ADUs allowed on single-family lotYes — required by state law
Max units per lotSingle-family lot: 1 ADU converted from existing space, 1 JADU and 1 detached new ADU. From Jan 1, 2027 a second detached ADU, though a city need not then also approve a JADU. Lot with an existing multifamily building: up to 8 detached ADUs, not more than its existing units, plus conversions of non-livable space
Owner-occupancy requiredNot allowed to require for ADUs (state preempts)
Side setback (detached)4 feet
Rear setback (detached)4 feet
Max height16 ft; 18 ft within one-half mile walking distance of a major transit stop or high-quality transit corridor
Off-street parkingNone may be required within one-half mile walking distance of public transit, or in the other cases listed in Government Code section 66322; otherwise at most one space per ADU or per bedroom, whichever is less
Max ADU size850 sqft for studio/1BR; 1,000 sqft for 2+BR (city may allow more)
Min lot sizeA city may not impose a minimum lot size requirement for ADUs
Permit timeline (ministerial)60 days from complete application (state law)

Irvine adopted its current ADU ordinance in 2018. Read the full ordinance text (PDF).

Changing on January 1, 2027

  • Two detached ADUs: cities must approve two detached, new-construction ADUs on a lot with a single-family home, up from one (AB 956).
  • Impact fees: on an ADU larger than 750 sqft, only the area above 750 sqft is chargeable, for the first two ADUs on a lot (SB 1117).
  • Plan check: no more than two plan-check rounds on a building permit application (AB 1621).

State law, effective statewide. What the 2027 ADU laws change, and what they don't →

ADU permit history in Irvine

Annual ADU permits issued, 2013–2025. Sources: Big West Coast ADU Dataset for 2013–2017 and the California HCD Annual Progress Report (October 2026 release) for 2018–2025.

0
0
0
0
0
1
1
5
8
201320142015201620172018202120222025

How long ADUs take to build in Irvine

Irvine has not reported enough completed ADU projects to the state for us to publish a local build time. Across California, the median time from building permit to certificate of occupancy is 346 days (about 11.4 months), measured over 64,173 completed ADU projects. See measured build times for 166 California cities →

ADU specialist builders in Irvine

Active CA-licensed B-class general contractors with ADU-specialist branding, sourced from the CSLB Public Data Portal snapshot from April 28, 2026. Click any license number to verify current status at the CSLB Instant License Check — status can change at any time. See builder-directory methodology.

So Cal Casitas & Adus Inc

16372 Construction Circle Eastunit #9, Irvine 92606
(949) 677 9757
CSLB #1071406 · B · first licensed 11/30/2020

Adu Development

6 Venture Ste 350, Irvine 92618
(949) 216 0686
CSLB #1084420 · B · first licensed 12/01/2021

Pelican Adu Builders

1924 Barranca Parkway, Irvine 92606
(949) 299 2370
CSLB #1106515 · B · first licensed 06/26/2023

Adu-Container Construction Company

55 Cape Cod, Irvine 92620
(949) 302 6866
CSLB #1147898 · B · first licensed 12/18/2025

Talk to a builder

Want an introduction to a builder or matching service that serves Irvine?

Run the lot checker for your address. You get the rules that apply to your lot, a cost range and the statewide build-time figures first, and at the end you can ask to be introduced by email to one builder or builder-matching service that serves your area. Builders may pay us a referral fee for an introduction; it never changes anything on this page, and no builder can pay to appear in our directory.

Check my lot in Irvine

Frequently asked questions

How much does an ADU cost in Irvine?

Most Irvine ADU projects fall in a $100,000–$400,000+ range, all-in (design + permits + construction). The big drivers are size, type (detached costs more than a garage conversion), and finish level. See the per-type cost table above for typical ranges in this market.

Do I need a permit to build an ADU in Irvine?

Yes — every ADU in California requires a building permit. Irvine processes ADU applications under the state's 60-day ministerial review rule (no public hearings, no discretionary review for code-compliant designs). Permit fees vary but typically run $5,000–$25,000 depending on size and impact fees.

Can my ADU in Irvine be larger than 1,000 sqft?

It depends on the city. Under the general ADU ordinance rules, a city cannot set a maximum ADU size below 850 sqft, or 1,000 sqft for more than one bedroom, but the separate state-mandated detached ADU path may be limited to 800 sqft. Many California cities allow larger detached ADUs — check the Irvine planning department or the ordinance link in our rules table above for the local maximum.

Do I need to live on the property to build an ADU in Irvine?

No, not for an ADU. AB-976, in effect since January 1, 2024, made the state's ban on owner-occupancy requirements for ADUs permanent: California cities may not require an owner to live on the property as a condition of permitting an ADU. JADUs are different. A JADU that shares sanitation facilities with the existing structure requires the owner to live in either the house or the JADU; owner-occupancy is not required if the JADU has separate sanitation facilities, or if the owner is another governmental agency, land trust, or housing organization (Government Code section 66333).

What's the difference between an ADU and a JADU?

A JADU (Junior ADU) is a unit ≤500 sqft created within an existing single-family home, sharing a wall with the main residence. JADUs are cheaper and faster to build. A JADU that shares sanitation facilities with the existing structure requires the owner to live in either the house or the JADU; owner-occupancy is not required if the JADU has separate sanitation facilities, or if the owner is another governmental agency, land trust, or housing organization. Most homeowners build a separate ADU for rental flexibility.

How many ADUs are being built in Irvine?

According to California HCD permit records, Irvine permitted 8 ADUs in 2025, its peak year on record (2013–2025). California-wide ADU permits have grown roughly 30× since 2016 — homeowner demand is outpacing every other housing-supply tool the state has tried.

How did Irvine's ADU ordinance compare to other cities in 2020?

UC Berkeley's Center for Community Innovation graded Irvine's ordinance C+ in their 2020 ADU Scorecard, scoring the 2018 ordinance text. The mean grade across California was C+, so anything above that ranked as relatively homeowner-friendly at the time. This is historical, not current law: state-level updates since 2020 (SB-897, AB-2221, AB-976, SB-1211 and others) have raised the statewide floor and many cities have rewritten their local ordinances since the 2020 grading. Always check the current ordinance text linked above for what applies to a project you're about to start.

How long does it take to build an ADU in Irvine?

Irvine has not reported enough completed ADU projects to the state for a reliable local figure. Across California, the median time from building permit to certificate of occupancy is 346 days (about 11.4 months), and 53% of completed ADU projects were finished within a year. Design and plan check happen before the permit is issued, so allow for those on top.

Check my lot: rules, cost, build time